Tags

, , , , ,

Go round and round apparently. Well as long as you keep turning these things called pedals! Finally I’ve managed what I’d consider to be a half decent cycle. A 17mile circuit around Rutland Water 🙂 It was by no means a super quick sporty affair, but I got around with a friend in around 2hrs 15mins and managed to get a decent bit of speed along the straights.

The good thing was there wasn’t a lot of traffic even along the road parts, and we didn’t get any motorists bothering us at all. That’s something that puts me off cycling locally a lot, as I always feel I’m in the way. Today was great though. Well the flat bits were, there were some parts I really loved… but I struggled a bit with some of the hills, particularly the cross country ones. There was one particularly tough one and I had to stop part way up, but I was determined it wasn’t going to beat me, as I was pushing the bike nowhere. After watching my mate slowly make her way up and having a few mouthfuls of my drink I carried on. Slowly! My mate had waited at the top and was getting a drink, and just as I hit a flatter part I shouted ahead “that little f**ker” and my mate burst out laughing, which made me start laughing as well! I ended up having to stop at the top as we were laughing so much!

About a mile later my friend changed gear and did something the bike didn’t like, which ended up in her chain falling off. Both of us just looked at it blankly for a bit… she did some fiddling and then ended up wheeling it a few metres uphill to a pub where a fair few cyclists were sat. After ‘testing it’ the chain promptly fell off again, and she ended up in a heap on the floor to the amusement of a pub garden full of people. This kind of thing usually only happens to me! But after her asking loudly if anyone knew much about chains, a guy put down his burger and sorted the situation in about 30 seconds. Bless, there are some nice people out there 😉

So other than that, the rest of the ride was fairly uneventful and we enjoyed the scenery, bahhhed at a few sheep (and I wondered how much I’d get told off if I had a quick swim to cool down) and we got back to the cars in one piece. All in all, not a bad effort… Do I have to do it again to make myself a cyclist? 😛

20120726-211221.jpg
Sporting a nice tan line from running gps!